AMSUN elections 2016

A student casts her vote during AMSUN elections.

The Association of Medical Students of the University of Nairobi (AMSUN) held elections to elect new leaders on 7th October, 2016.

Ahmed Dekow was elected as the new chairman of the association following the expiry of former chair Mwalimu Eboso’s term in office.

Dekow garnered 818 votes to beat two other candidates who eyed the seat.

Grace Kibathi was second with 574 votes, while David Kanyiri was third with 58 votes.

The 1st Vice Chairman’s post went to Brian Ogenya. Ogenya got 739 votes while his only opponent Aketch Clifford managed to get 439 votes.

The treasurer’s post was won by Kiogora Kendi who garnered 789 votes, Omare Elkana’s 630 votes.

Mundhir Said got 895 votes to win the Organizing Secretary post. Keith Wafula, who also vied for the post got 505 votes.

Fadhila Yusuf, Nelson Mpethu, Bridget Osede and Abdaz Adan were elected 2nd Vice Chairman, Secretary General, External Affairs, and Sports and Entertainment Secretary respectively after they vied unopposed.

The new officials will be in office for a one-year term.